A Dream Doubter

The dream to write a second book burned deeply in my heart. I began writing with passion, but about midway, things went sour. Creativity dried up when I started questioning my desires, dreams, and motives. I asked myself, “What if this was just my own frivolous plan and God had no part in it?”

I had become a dream doubter.

So, how do I know if my desires and dreams are from God?

In Psalm 37:4, David wrote:

Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.

According to the Hebrew dictionary, the word delight means to seek happiness in God. Desire means to make a request, petition, or ask.

Writing is certainly a desire of my heart, but the condition for receiving it is to first delight in the Lord. Then, my desires and dreams will prosper. The correct question to ask is—do I delight in the Lord?

For the Lord God is sun and shield;

The Lord bestows favor and honor;

No good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.

Do you ever wonder if your dreams are God’s dreams for you? Delight in the Lord, walk blameless before Him, and he will give wings to your dreams. No good thing will He withold from you.

Watch for my second book coming soon: Sixty Days of Grace.

God-Sized Button

About dorothyruppert

Author of two books - God Placed Her in My Path - Lessons Learned From the Furnace of Bipolar Disorder -Sixty Days of Grace - God's Sufficiency for the Journey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

