Sustaining Grace

Sustaining grace promises not the absence of struggle,
but the presence of God.

Max Lucado

Struggles are numerous in life. Whether in our youth or in maturity, we face challenges that seem beyond our abilities. Our paths are laden with rapids, ruts, and rocks. We often find ourselves in circumstances we would not have chosen had we been in perfect control. However, the things that trip us up are the very things that cause our growth. As we persevere, character is developed, and hope attained. There is one promise from God we can count on in the midst of our struggles:

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. (Psalm 46:1)

This promise is not one I glibly roll off my tongue, but rather one that I have learned to appreciate from my journey’s hard bumps and deep valleys – a promise that, deep in my heart, I know is true. When I am in a troubling situation, I find comfort in knowing that God’s presence is available through His sustaining grace.

Today, I will count my blessings and be thankful for the struggles that have taught me life’s lessons – for the mercies that are new every morning – and for the beauty all around.

100_0460 crocus

About dorothyruppert

Author of two books - God Placed Her in My Path - Lessons Learned From the Furnace of Bipolar Disorder -Sixty Days of Grace - God's Sufficiency for the Journey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

