Manna for One Day

With only seven more blogs to post for the 28-day Author Blog Challenge, I am wondering if I will have withdrawal symptoms when it is over. Writing these blogs has been one of my favorite things to do each day, since beginning on June 2. From the onset, I chose to deviate from following the daily prompts. Instead I wanted to write about my passion, breaking the stigma of mental illness and finding hope in situations that seem hopeless. These two themes also run through the book I wrote, “God Placed Her in My Path – Lessons Learned from the Furnace of Bipolar Disorder.”

Some days, when I sit down to write my blog, I have no idea which aspect of mental health I will address. I just show up at the page/computer, say a little prayer for inspiration, and begin. On other days, I know exactly what I want to write about because it has been ruminating in my soul for several hours, days, months, or years and I have to get it out on paper before I explode. Often, I wake up in the middle of the night for no reason, other than to jot down an idea that pops up from my subconscious mind. This is all part of the creative process of writing. Sometimes it flows, other times it is a bit of a struggle.

Living life to its fullest is a creative process just like writing. On certain days, it seems I am empty and hopeless and have nothing to contribute and I just show up and see what develops. On other days, I have hopeful ideas, constructive plans, and marvelous inspirations, which I simply must implement or I will burst. The important things are that I SHOW UP and that I engage in the process.

Each morning, when I awake, whether I feel empty or full I just need to show up, say a little prayer and fully experience whatever the day brings. I usually receive only enough manna (food) to write one blog or to live one day. I can be present in just one day – today. By faith, I believe l will receive the manna I need each day, but no more/less than I really need!

About dorothyruppert

Author of two books - God Placed Her in My Path - Lessons Learned From the Furnace of Bipolar Disorder -Sixty Days of Grace - God's Sufficiency for the Journey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Manna for One Day

  1. Jo Michaels says:

    I’m glad you participated!! Sometimes we feel like we’re the only ones. It helps to know there are people out there with the same issues and that there are people out there who understand us. WRITE ON!

Leave a Reply

